The Lord’s Prayer – Introduction from Book

[This is the Introduction from “First Lessons in Christian Science, Volume Three:  The Lord’s Prayer,” by Vicki Jones Cole]

INTRODUCTION

A warm welcome to all readers, especially those who have been using the previous Volumes of “First Lessons” on the Ten Commandments and the Beatitudes. This is the third volume in the trilogy of lessons for young people who are being taught the Scriptures according to the teachings of Christian Science. You might notice that the main title of the books has been changed to First Lessons in Christian Science. The title is taken from the instructions relating to the Sunday School, given in Article XX of the Manual of The Mother Church:

Subject for Lessons. SECT. 3. The first lessons of the children should be the Ten Commandments (Exodus 20:3-17), the Lord’s Prayer (Matt. 6:9-13), and its Spiritual Interpretation by Mary Baker Eddy, Sermon on the Mount (Matt. 5:3-12).

As I explained in the earlier Volumes, my goal in writing these manuals was to encourage more in-depth study of these subjects by young people, especially those who may not have access to a Christian Science Sunday School. The idea to write these books came to me during a time I was trying to teach my own children these lessons at home. I did not have enough time to do the research necessary to teach the subjects as thoroughly as I wanted, and to adapt the lessons to their ages as they grew. I had plenty of resources available, thanks to my many years as a Christian Science Sunday School pupil, teacher, and Superintendent. When I was able, I started to put these books together in a format I felt would have been useful to us in our at-home daily Bible lessons we shared each morning.

I have enjoyed the time and study spent preparing these lessons. It has been an important spiritual journey for me, and I am still working to put the “first lessons” into practice in my daily life. I have also appreciated the letters of thanks from grateful parents who appreciated the amount of effort that has gone into these books, which has saved them precious time in today’s busy world. I am happy if these lessons have helped spark some discussions, and enabled some children to love and use these foundational teachings. It has also been wonderful to hear that other adults have found the lessons useful for themselves, and that Sunday School teachers are using them to prepare for their classes.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or comments. My email address is: firstlessons@aol.com.

Vicki Jones Cole
September 2005

Leave a Reply

